Newsletter subscribe

Regent's Message, Uncategorized

Regent’s Message – Fall 2018

Posted: January 11, 2019 at 3:45 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

Greetings fellow ACHE members!

Fall is in the air and before you know it, we will be approaching our holiday season. Until then, hopefully we can enjoy the changing of the seasons and some football as well. I hope your favorite team wins and you get to congratulate your fellow alumni. Speaking of congratulating people, we have the pleasure of congratulating a group of new, advancing and recertifying members of ACHE. Please join me in recognizing these members and welcoming them to the Mississippi Healthcare Executives

New Members 
William Brown, MBA, Cardiovascular Institute of the South 
Alania Cedillo, Marion General Hospital 
Dominique Crockett, Louisiana Department of Health 
Jeffrey Eubanks, Mississippi Bone and Joint Orthopedic Clinic 
Nathanael Forbes, North Mississippi Health Services 
Kevin Johnson, MHA, North Mississippi Medical Center 
Tiffany Lee, Pearl River County Hospital and Nursing 
Kmitra Lovely, Department of Veterans Affairs 
Kelvin Monroe, North Mississippi Health Services 
Brandy Perry, MBA, Franciscan Missionaries of our Lady Health System 
Sophia Rubino 
Robert Stringer, HCA/Garden Park Medical Center 
Connie Weathersby, RN, Select Medical Specialty 
Collier Young, University of Mississippi Medical Center

New Fellow 
Shawn Rossi, FACHE, Mississippi Hospital Association

Recertifying Fellows 
James Chastain, FACHE, Mississippi State Hospital 
Alfred Faulk III, FACHE, University of Mississippi Medical Center 
Tonda Haigler, FACHE, Merit Health Biloxi 
Randy Rogers, FACHE, HCA/Garden Park Medical Center

Our Chapter would also like to welcome Delta State University and Jackson State University to the ACHE Higher Education Network (HEN)! Thanks to the great work of Kina L. White, DrPH, MHSA, FACHE and Melanie Fortenberry, Program Director, Master of Health Services Administration at Mississippi College, students and faculty at these two universities are now able to enjoy the following benefits:

  • One free subscription (distributed electronically) to each of ACHE’s publications: Healthcare Executive, Journal of Healthcare Management and Frontiers of Health Services Management 
  • The opportunity to receive a reduced fee for the annual Congress on Healthcare Leadership for the program director or their faculty designee 
  • A dedicated Web area designed to help program directors provide a valuable on-campus student experience 

By joining the ACHE Higher Education Network, these two programs agree to: 

  • Encourage their students to become Student Associates of ACHE
  • Encourage their students to advance to Member upon graduation 

To be a participant in the ACHE Higher Education Network, universities/colleges must be regionally accredited, offer an identifiable degree and a major or concentration in healthcare management. I know the Board of the Mississippi Healthcare Executives looks forward to working with the students and faculty of these new HEN members. We also look forward to seeing more students at future Chapter meetings. 

As I conclude this newsletter, I want to express my appreciation for the work that each of you do to take care of the great people of Mississippi. Please keep challenging your organizations to be there best! I also want to publicly thank the Board members of our Chapter for all they do to help each of us stay current in healthcare and to challenge us to be our best and provide the very best care to our patients. The members of our Chapter Board of Directors for 2018 are: 

Chandler Ewing, FACHE 
David A. Muns, MPH, FACHE 
Peyton Warrington, FACHE 
Courtney R. Phillips 
David A. North, FACHE 
Elizabeth Youngblood MBA, RN, FACHE 
Kina L. White, DrPH, MHSA, FACHE 
John O’Keefe Jr., MBA, FACHE 
Melanie Fortenberry, BSN, MHA 
Loryn Payne 

Thanks again to each of you for all that you do! Thank you also for being part of ACHE and for being a “Leader who cares”

Best Regards,